Thursday, 27 October 2016 11:57


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)


Geography, History and Economy

Area: 9 513km² 
Description: The uMgungundlovu District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the KwaZulu-Natal Midlands. The district is comprised of the following seven local municipalities, which are based in the accompanying towns: Impendle – Impendle, Mkhambathini – Camperdown, Mpofana – Mooi River, Msunduzi – Pietermaritzburg, Richmond – Richmond, uMngeni – Howick, and uMshwathi – New Hanover/Wartburg. 

 The main city of the area is Pietermaritzburg, which is both the capital city and the legislative capital of KwaZulu-Natal. uMgungundlovu is a water services authority and also a water service provider that continually strives to maintain its Blue Drop and Green Drop Status. 
 The district offers distinguished education facilities and is a retirement mecca for senior citizens. It also offers excellent sporting, commercial and health facilities. It is an important industrial, timber, dairy and agricultural hub that has a modern, sophisticated infrastructure with easy access to airports, the N3 arterial, and railway stations.

Cities/Towns: Ashburton, Camperdown, Cool Air, Dalton, Hilton, Howick, Impendle, Mooi River, New Hanover, Pietermaritzburg, Richmond, Wartburg
Main Economic Sectors: Community services (25-30%), finance (15-20%), manufacturing (10-15%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (10-15%), wholesale and retail trade (10-15%), transport and storage (10%)

Read 1734 times
More in this category: Political and Admin Management »